T. Subbarami Reddy

T. Subbarami Reddy ( Tikkavarapu Subbarami Reddy) born on 17 September 1943 .TSR an Indian industrialist, politician, film producer, and a philanthropist. In 1993 he produced the Sanskrit film Bhagavad Gita, which garnered the National Film Award for Best Feature Film at the 40th National Film Awards.

TSR is a member of the Indian National Congress. He was Member of the Parliament of India representing Andhra Pradesh in the Rajya Sabha, the upper house of the Indian Parliament and Lok Sabha, the lower house since 1996. He was elected to 11th and 12th Lok Sabha twice in 1996 and 1998 from Visakhapatnam constituency. He was elected as Rajya Sabha member in 2002 and continued in the position for the third term.

TSR was member of various parliamentary committees. He was also Minister of State in the Ministry of Mines between 2006 and 2008. On 15 June 2012, Reddy lost the election for Nellore constituency to Mekapati Rajamohan Reddy.

Personal life :

He was born to T. Babu Reddy and Rukmini Amma at Nellore, Andhra Pradesh. He did B.Sc Physics from Nizam College, Hyderabad. His uncle is T. Ramana Reddy. He is also related to filmmaker T. Pattabhirama Reddy.

His wife T. Indira Subbarami Reddy is the chairman of Gayatri Projects India Pvt. Ltd, the company founded by him.

Industrialist :

TSR founded the Gayatri holdings and has been in the field of business for the last 35 years involved in the construction activity, sugar industry, chemical industry, State’s development.

TSR received a Gold Medal by the then Prime Minister of India, Indira Gandhi, for his great contribution in the construction of the then world’s biggest dam Nagarjuna Sagar Project in Andhra Pradesh in 1967. Reddy was the mud contractor for this dam.

TSR was Chairman of Tirumala Tirupati Devasthanam Board (T.T.D.) since 2004, National Panorama Festival Committee in 1992, National Film Award Jury in 1994 and 1997, Andhra Pradesh Cultural Federation in 1994 and Member of Central Film Censor Board, 1983-85.

TSR has produced a handful of films in Bollywood, Telugu, Sanskrit and Tamil cinema


  • National Film Awards
  • National Film Award for Best Feature Film (producer) – Bhagavad Gita (1993)

Other honors

  • Kala Samrat by Maharashtra Government in 1988
  • Kala Ratna by Lt. Governor, Delhi in 1989
  • Kala tapaswi by Telugu Academy in 1993
  • Honorary doctorate by Mangalore University in recognition of social work
  • Life Time Achievement Award by American Telugu Association in 2002

TSR Filomgraphy


  • Bhagavad Gita (1993)


  • Dilwaala (1986)
  • Chandni (1989)
  • Lamhe (1991)
  • Swami Vivekananda (1998)


  • Jeevana Poratam (1986)
  • Trimutulu (1988)
  • State Rowdy (1989)
  • Suriya IPS (1991)
  • Gangmaster (1994)
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search